Under California’s “Zero Tolerance Law,” any person who is under 21 years of age with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.01 percent or greater can be charged with a DUI. San Bernardino & Riverside drivers who are underage and have a BAC of 0.05 percent or greater can also be charged with both an underage DUI and a regular DUI at the same time.
The penalties for an underage DUI may include the loss of a license for a year or longer, fines of several thousands of dollars, driving safety classes and alcohol/drug abuse classes.
As former Riverside County prosecutors with more than 50 years of experience in criminal defense, and having handled juvenile matters in court, our DUI attorneys at Greenberg, Greenberg & Kenyon strive for the best possible outcome, which may mean going to trial or negotiating a plea to a lesser offense.
Underage Drinking and Driving Lawyer in San Bernardino & Riverside
As with other DUIs, there are two separate hearings for a juvenile DUI. The first is a DMV hearing, which concerns the arrested individual’s driving privileges. The second is the criminal court hearing, which concerns the matter of guilt or innocence and may impose fines, jail time and other criminal penalties upon a conviction.
In addition to those penalties, however, are the larger consequences that can come with an underage DUI conviction. The impact of a permanent criminal record can be devastating to the convicted youth’s opportunities for employment, education and professional licensing, among other areas.
Contact Our Underage Drinking DUI Attorneys
If your child has been charged with an underage DUI, or you have been arrested as an underage individual, in San Bernardino, Riverside or elsewhere in Southern California, contact us online or by telephone at (951) 274-0003 to speak with an experienced San Bernardino & Riverside criminal lawyer.