The city of Ontario, CA has an abundance of resources to entertain young professionals and families that are looking to settle down. Ontario is the home base to Southern California’s hot amenities—a trip to the beach, wine country, Disneyland, and mountain or desert retreats are all within reach of Ontario.
Yet when you or a family member is faced with a DUI charge, the amenities can be lost. You may not be able to drive to meet up with friends in Hollywood, drive your young ones to school, or even pick up your parents from the nearby Ontario airport. DUI charges can change a person’s life.
When faced with a DUI charge in Ontario, California, friends and family members will tell you contradictory information. While one may say that you will have a felony on your hands, another may simply state you’ll face hefty fines. In the face of a DUI, it is important to understand the truth and what consequences could be heading your way.
At Greenberg, Greenberg & Kenyon, APLC, our DUI attorneys always leave our clients prepared and aware of their potential outcomes. During the free consultation, it is usual to debunk many myths that those Ontario friends and family members may have told you. Here are some of the most common myths about DUIs and the truth behind them.
Myth: You cannot get a DUI if you are under the legal limit.
You can get a DUI even if you are under the legal drinking limit. If an officer believes that you are intoxicated and are unable to properly drive your vehicle, you can face DUI charges. California’s legal drinking limit is 0.08% if you are 21 and over, and 0.05% if you are under 21. Yet some people get charged when they blow between 0.05%-0.08%.
Almost ten percent of the DUI charges given to California residents in 2011 were for a zero-tolerance charge, meaning that the driver had a BAC level between 0.01-0.07%. That means over 17,000 residents received DUI charges for being under the legal limit. However, many probably did not get convicted because they had well-established DUI attorneys on their side.
If you have been charged with a DUI under or above the legal limit, it is essential that you contact an experienced DUI attorney to help you through the legal process. Based on how the arrest was made, your previous record, BAC level, and more, your penalties can range significantly. A DUI attorney will understand the court’s legal standards and be able to negotiate what will be best for you, your family, and your life in Ontario, California.
Myth: A DUI is only a misdemeanor defense.
If this is your first, second, or third DUI charge, then you will likely be facing misdemeanor charges. If this is your fourth or more, you will most likely be facing a felony.
When you receive your first DUI charge, the penalties will go as followed:
- Fines up to 1,500 dollars
- 48 hours jail time
- Minimum 90 day license suspension with special permits to drive to and from work
These are in addition to other penalties such as alcohol classes, community service, and probation. For the second and third offenses, the same penalties will be more severe—fines will increase, you may be imprisoned for a longer period of time, and an interlock driving system may be placed in your car, etc.
If you are facing your fourth DUI or a DUI that injured or killed another person, you will be facing a felony. With a felony, you may have your license taken away for several years (or even life), three years in prison, and heavy fines.
A DUI attorney at Greenberg, Greenberg & Kenyon, APLC can assess your individual case and determine what penalties you may receive, and which may be reduced or eliminated. Contact us today to determine your best possible outcomes after a DUI in Ontario, California.
Myth: If I refuse to blow, my license will be taken away.
If you refuse to use a breathalyzer, or complete a blood test at the time of your arrest, your license will be suspended for an extended period of time. If this is your first DUI conviction, then your license will be suspended for one year. If this is your second, it will be suspended for two years.
Refusing the blow into the breathalyzer is equal to not taking a chemical test, and can be considered a refusal of a blood and urine test too. Under California law, you may only take a urine test if the officer believes you are under the influence of drugs, or for health problems like hemophilia or heart conditions.
Even if you refuse to take a chemical test, you still have options. Consult with a DUI lawyer in order to understand the legal process and where you stand.
Myth: I have options after my DUI charges.
It is essential to understand when you are charged with a DUI, you have options. It is your responsibility to talk to a DUI attorney. A DUI attorney is the key to a better result for you. Experienced DUI attorneys will understand the law, be aware of how the local court rooms work, and be able to secure the best possible result for you all while answering all of your questions and keeping you well informed.
At Greenberg, Greenberg & Kenyon, APLC, the knowledgeable DUI attorneys have over 50 years combined experience handling DUI criminal cases and administrative hearings. They will understand your needs, be aware of your perspective and input, and advise you on your legal options.
A DUI attorney can debunk the myths that you have heard in Ontario, California, and provide you with honest answers. Most importantly, the DUI attorneys at Greenberg, Greenberg & Kenyon, APLC will be able to set your life back on track.
If you’ve been charged with a DUI in Ontario, California, don’t let it disrupt your life. Call Greenberg, Greenberg & Kenyon, APLC today for a free consultation about your case.