What are the possible consequences of a DUI conviction for first-time offenders? For repeat offenders?
“The consequences for a person who’s convicted as a first‑time offender in California are pretty much the same from county to county. The maximum punishment is six months in the county jail. The minimum could be 48 hours. There is also a fine, which is pretty standard throughout Southern California. That’s around $2,000. There is also the possibility of losing your license for six months.
For repeat offenders, it’s much more severe. The consequences go up proportionately based on a second or third offense. The fines are relatively the same. The actual jail time can go up to a year, and many courts are inclined to do that if you’re a third‑time offender. Also, you face mandatory loss of your license for a year or sometimes more.” – DUI Defense Attorney Daniel Greenberg