In Riverside, California, the breeze is warm and the nights are mild. It is a perfect place to go out during an evening with some good friends and let your guard down with a few ice-cold alcoholic beverages.
But a breezy night out can quickly turn ugly if you get behind the wheel with alcohol pulsing through your veins. The lights may come on behind you and a DUI may land in jail.
Knowing what to do after being charged with a DUI can be difficult. Many California residents simply are not aware of their state’s DUI law. As experienced DUI defense attorneys in Riverside, we at Greenberg & Greenberg, APLC would like to remind you of a couple key things to keep in mind if you have been pulled over on suspicion of driving under the influence.
If the officer decides that you are indeed driving under the influence and issues you a DMV suspension or revocation order, you have 10 days to contact your local DMV and request an administrative hearing in order to challenge the suspension/revocation of your drivers license. It is possible that the DMV will not uphold the police officer’s suspension or revocation order. Be sure to ask for a hearing within the given 10 days if you want to fight your license revocation.
In addition to driving license penalties, you could face criminal charges as well. For a conviction of your first DUI offense in California, you could lose your license for four months or more and face fines and court costs of up to $1,900. Penalties could be even more severe if you were speeding or if your BAC level was much higher than .08.
For help fighting your criminal DUI charges or for representation in an administrative hearing at the DMV, enlist a DUI defense lawyer to fight for your rights and defend you. Contact the dedicated DUI lawyers at Greenberg & Greenberg, APLC right away.